FINAL RULE Agency # 209.02

REGULATIONS ON GRAIN DEALERS IN ARKANSAS

(Promulgated and adopted under authority of
The Arkansas Grain Dealer Act A.C.A. § 2-24-101 et seq.)

SECTION L. GENERAL PURPOSE AND INTENT

The Arkansas Grain Dealers Act is established to regulate grain dealers in the
state of Arkansas that are not licensed under the Arkansas Public Grain Warehouse Law,
the United States Warehouse Act and are not end users of grain. The Director of the
Arkansas State Plant Board is appointed as the administrator of this law. The director
shall administer this chapter and shall be the ultimate authority in the administration of
this chapter. The agency may employ all necessary employees, counsel, and consultants
to carry out the provisions of this law and is vested with the power necessary to fully and
effectively carry out the provisions and objectives of this chapter.

SECTION IL ORGANIZATION AND DESIGNATION OF DUTIES

The Arkansas Grain Dealers Act will be administered by the Arkansas State Plant
Board. The Director or appointed representative is hereby designated as having the
authority to carry out the activities needed to administer the Arkansas Grain Dealers Act.
All proceedings and hearings will be conducted in accordance with A.C.A, § 2-24-101 et
seq. and A.C.A. § 25-15-201 et seq.

SECTION III.  LICENSING AND BONDING

Application Form, GD-1 or GD-2, is to be used in securing a license under this
Act, whether for a new license or the renewal of a license. This form will be supplied,
upon request by the applicant, by the Plant Board. For renewals the form will be sent to
all licensees from the previous year prior to the renewal deadline. Renewal applications
should be delivered to the Plant Board at least thirty (30) days before the current license
expires. The licensing period shall be from July 1 through June 30 of each year, with the
exception of those licenses issued during the inception of the regulations. Those licenses
will be inclusive of the time between their issuance and June 30, 2016.

Each application for a license or license renewal shall be accompanied with a financial
statement and signed report of a CPA or registered public accountant which must be a
representation of an examined audit report, a review report or a compilation report.
Additional reports required are a balance sheet, a schedule of notes payable, a statement
of cash flows and other reports that may be stipulated by the Plant Board. All financial
reports for year two and beyond of licensing are to be submitted to the Plant Board within




120 days of the company’s fiscal year end. All financial statements must be in bound
copy or in electronic pdf from the accountant. New companies, just being established
and having less than one complete fiscal year of operation, need only a trial balance and
estimated purchases for their first year to apply for a license. All financial records will be
handied as dictated by A.C.A. 25-19-101 et seq. (Arkansas Freedom of Information Act.)

The Bond Form, Letter of Credit Form, and a Certificate of Deposit Form for the
purpose of securing bonding for the grain dealer will be supplied in the application

packet. Only one type of bonding is required.

Bonding requirements are as follows:

1 5,000,000 $50,000.00
5,000,001 20,000,000 $100,000.00
20,000,001 40,000,000 $200,000.00
40,000,001 60,000,000 $400,000.00
60,000,001 | 80,000,000 $600.000.00
80,000,001 | 100,000,000 $800,000.00
100,000,001 and over $1.000,000.00




SECTIONIV. FEES

As required by law, the application fee for a newly established business (a
business with less than one (1) fiscal year of operation) is $150.00. The fee for an
established business (a business with more than one (1) fiscal year of operation) is as
follows:

1 5,000,000 $250.00
5,000,001 20,000,000 $300.00

| 20,000,001 40,000,000 $400.00
40,000,001 60,000,000 $500.00
60,000,001 80,000,000 $600.00
80,000,001 | 100,000,000 $700.00
100,000,001 and over $800.00

One examination is to be made each year on each licensed dealer, the cost of
which is included in the application fee. Additional examinations may be made at any
time and at the discretion of the Director. If during the additional examinations a
material discrepancy is found, the licensed dealer will be required to reimburse the State
Plant Board at the rate of $40.00 per hour for the time required to make the additional
examination(s).

SECTION V. PENALTIES AND VIOLATIONS

Violations

Operating without a license, refusing to provide records during an audit, or
knowingly violating the grain dealers act is a Class D felony. A person who negligently
violates this law is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. Upon conviction both are
punishable by a criminal fine up to $100 dollars. Civil penalties may apply as well. The
. director may issue a cease and desist order for any violation of this law.




Minor Violations

Upon the first offense, violations that are clerical and believed to be accidental in
nature will be considered to be minor violations. Examples of such violations include,
but are not limited to, the loss of voided scale tickets, settlements or contracts and not
conducting business as prescribed by the grain dealer act.

Penalty Violations: Violations that fall under the civil penalty matrix.
Second violation of the minor violations.

Failure to pay on the due date of the payment agreement.
Knowingly falsifying records.

Refusal to allow inspection of records.

Operating without a license.

Mo oW

Penalty Matrix (See Appendix 1) |

SECTION VI. SUSPENSION OF LICENSE

A. A grain dealer’s license may be temporarily suspended without a hearing if the
director determines that public health, safety, or welfare is at risk. Upon the temporary
suspension the director shall by certified mail notify dealer of said suspension and notify
the dealer of the time and date of the hearing concerning the suspension, The hearing
shall occur within ten days of the suspension.

B. A grain dealer’s license may be suspended w1th0ut a hearing five days after
sending a notice by certified mail that surety has expired or if the grain dealer refuses to
submit to an audit of their records. License shall not be suspended for more than 60 days
without a hearing.

SECTION VII. SLOW PAY HOTLINE

The slow-pay hotline number will be on every license that the State Plant Board
issues to grain dealers. Also, grain dealers must have the slow-pay hotline number on all
purchase agreements. The hotline number will be published and provided to all licensees
upon establishment of the number.

SECTION VIII. RECORD KEEPING

Recordkeeping and Retention Requirements

Grain dealers will provide all records required by the director upon request and
are required to keep said records for a period of not less than 5 fiscal years of the dealer.
Required records will include all purchase contracts, all sales contracts, all scale tickets,
all settlement sheets, all delivery tickets and any other document acquired in relation to
the buying and selling of each lot of grain handled.




Purchase Contracts

A. A purchase contract is a written document which lists all conditions and
requirements being agreed to in the transaction to transfer title of a grain lot
from a seller to a buyer. The document must show the document preparation
date, all other items shown in paragraph B and any other conditions relevant to
the transaction agreed to by the seller and buyer. Contracts shall be between the
buyer and the seller and contract details are not constructed by these regulations.

B. It shall be the responsibility of grain dealers to draw up an agreement in
writing which shall contain a statement informing the seller all title to the grain
is being relinquished to the buyer. All agreements must have a lien holder
statement. All agreements must have the slow-pay hotline number, labeled as
such, on the contract. When applicable all contracts must have a date for the
payment to be made. That payment daie may be any date that is agreeable to the
parties involved and is not to be determined by these regulations, except that if
no payment date is specified, then the payment date will be considered to be
thirty (30) days after the contract preparation date. The Director may require
any additional information from a grain dealer that is deemed necessary to
protect the interest of the seller of grain in these transactions. All contracts
shall be pre-numbered with no number duplication. The Director or the
appointed representative shall approve the kind of contract form to be used by
grain dealers. Contracts include, but are not limited to, deferred pricing
contracts, deferred payment or booking contracts, and basis contracts. Parties
have thirty (30) days, after date of preparation, to get documents signed. If
conditions dictate grain be moved prior to securing signatures on the contract, a
statement to that effect must be included in the executed contract.

C. Scale tickets used to document measurement of grain quantities
transferred from one entity to another shall originate at a facility using scales
that have been inspected and place in service in accordance with Arkansas
Bureau of Standards regulations. These scale tickets must be numbered with a
unique number that is identifiable and traceable to the facility issuing the ticket.

Destination Contracts —These are written documents prepared to transfer title of a
quantity of grain from a Grain Dealer or current title holder to a subsequent buyer.

All destination contracts must be kept on file. These destination contracts, upon
delivery of contracted grain, must be supported by additional records that show which
purchased grain lots (as indicated by referenced purchase contract numbers) were used to
{ill the particular sale covered by the destination contract. Additional records such as
records listing the transporter of the grain, quantity of grain carried in each load if
multiple loads are used to move the total quantity of grain sold are to be kept with the
destination contracts. Details of grain transferred, i.e. scale tickets, purchase contract
numbers, delivery details, settlement sheets (summaries) and other documents used in the
purchase, used to fill the total quantity of the destination contract are to be kept by the
dealer.
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Delivery Tickets — These documents are to confirm the transfer and receipt of grain from
one entity to another with sufficient description to allow positive identification of the
grain lot being transferred.

Each grain dealer shall issue to all sellers of grain to the dealer a pre-numbered
officially approved delivery ticket which shall be issued in numerical order. All officially
approved delivery tickets must contain the original and no fewer than two copies.
Delivery tickets shall list, with copies attached, official scale tickets or an official load
summary showing the receipt of the grain covered by the delivery ticket.

A. A sample copy of the officially approved delivery ticket used by the grain dealer
shall be kept on file with the Director.

B. Each officially approved delivery ticket shall contain the following information:

1. The name and address of the grain dealer

2. Date grain was delivered.

3. The kind, quantity, grade or grade factors necessary (if applicable) to
determine the bushels; pounds or CWT of grain delivered.

4, All officially approved delivery tickets must denote the contract number

the delivered grain should be applied to.

C. An officially approved delivery tlcket must be issued on all grain purchased by the
grain dealer,

D. All officially approved delivery tickets that have been voided must be kept on file at
the grain dealer’s principal place of business.

E. A copy of all approved delivery tickets issued must be kept on file in numetrical
order at the grain dealer’s principal place of business.

Settlements — Settlements are documents that fully explain the grain purchase transaction
between the parties involved in the transaction.

All grain dealer purchases must be confirmed by preparation of a written
settlement document. The documents will be completed in a numerical sequence as they
are prepared. All settlements must have the name of the grain seller(s). All purchase
settlements must have the date when payment was made and the check number or other
means of payment is noted. All settlements must list the purchase contract number(s)
applicable to the settlement. All settlements must have a delivery sheet or load summary
to attest all scale tickets for all grain being purchased by the settlement.

Daily Position Record — A written record, prepared on a daily basis, to reflect the agreements
made for grain purchases that day and agreements to be filled as of that date. Dealers may use a
form made available by the Plant Board for this function. Use of this form will constitute
compliance with this requirement.




SECTION IX. FINANCIAL REQUIREMENTS

All grain dealers purchasing less than $100,000,000 worth of grain are required to
maintain 2 minimum net worth of $25,000. A grain dealer, who purchases more than
$100,000,000 worth of grain, will maintain a minimum net worth of $50,000. To be
licensed, a grain dealer who does not meet the minimum financial requirements must post
additional bond to cover the short fall in the minimum net worth. This additional bond
may be an amendment to the original bond or it may be a new bond to cover the -
deficiency amount.

SECTION X. OUT OF STATE GRAIN DEALERS

If the grain dealer does not maintain an office in this state and does not have a
statutory agent in this state, the application shall include a written appointment of a
statutory agent upon whom process, notice, or demand may be served. The statutory
agent shall be an individual residing in this state or a corporation whose principal place of
business is located in the state. If the identity or address of the statutory agent changes,
the grain dealer shall, within 3 days, file with the Plant Board a written appointment of -
the new statutory agent or written notice of the new address, as applicable.

SECTION XI. BUSINESS HOURS

All grain dealers are required to be available for business transactions on days the
commodity market is open and in a time frame that would allow sellers to utilize market
pricing to facilitate transactions.

SECTION XII. RECEIVERSHIP

Following the suspension of a dealer’s license, the State Plant Board may file a
verified petition in a court of competent jurisdiction requesting the appointment of a
receiver to take custody of the assets of the dealer and provide for the disposition of the
assets under the supervision of the court.

A petition for the appointment of a receiver shall be filed in the county in which
the dealer, or the registered agent, is located.

Upon receiving a petition for the appointment of a receiver, a court may issue any
temporary orders necessary to preserve or protect the assets in receivership, the value of
the assets in receivership, and the rights of the dealer’s creditors until & plan of
disposition is approved.

The board may be appointed as a receiver.




APPENDIX 1
ARKANSAS GRAIN DEALERS ACT
CIVIL PENALTY MATRIX
17" LEVEL 2"° LEVEL 3% LEVEL 4™ LEVEL
OF OF OF OF
o ENFORCEMENT ENFORCEMENT ENFORCEMENT ENFORCEMENT
VIOLATIONS
Action Action | . Action Action
. Penalty | ) , It .
Options enaty Options Penalty Options Penalty Options Penalty
Recordkeeping mistakes that
are clerical and believed to be $100
accidental in nature. Ex; Lost $600
scale tickets, incomplete A B&C $é%0 B,C&D to B.C&D $1,000
contracts, settlement mistakes, $900
DPR inaccurate, etc.
Failure to pay seller on Due $100 $200 | $600 _
Date. ' AB to B,C,D&E | - to B,C,D&E To B,C,D&E | $1.000
$300 $600 $1,000
] - $500 %800
Knowingly falsifying records. B,C&D $500 | B,CD&E | to B,C.D&E to B,C,.D&E | $1,000
$800 $1,000
, , $100 $400 $600
Refusal to allow inspection of B,C&D to B,C&D to B,C,D&E to B,C,D&E | $1,000
records. $300 $600 $900
‘ . , , $300 $500 $800
Operating without a license B to B&E to B&E to B&E $1,000
$500 $700 $1,000

Warning Letter

moow» vv

Hearing before the board
License Suspension

Revocation of license

Referral to Prosecuting Attorney

Each violation moves grain dealer to the next level of enforcement
Each individual violation is removed 3 years from the date the violation was first proven,
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FINANCIAL IMPACT STATEMENT

PLEASE ANSWER ALL QUESTIONS COMPLETELY

DEPARTMENT  Arkansas State Plant Board

DIVISION Feed & Fertilizer
PERSON COMPLETING THIS
STATEMENT - Michael L. Churchwell
501-225- FAX 501-219- ]
TELEPHONE NO. 1598 NO. 1746 EMAIL: mike.churchwell@aspb.ar.gov

To comply with Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e), please complete the following Financial Impact
Statement and file two copies with the questionnaire and proposed rules.

SHORT TITLE OF THIS Arkansas Grain Dealers Act
RULE

1. Does this proposed, amended, or repealed rule have a financial
impact? Yes X No[]

2. Is the rule based on the best reasonably obtainable scientific,

technical, economic, or other evidence and information available
concerning the need for, consequences of, and alternatives to the

rule? ' YesX] Nol[ ]

3. In consideration of the alternatives to this rule, was this rule : _
determined by the agency to be the least costly rule considered? Yes No [ ]

If an agency is proposing a more costly rule, please state the following:

(a) How the additional benefits of the more costly rule justify its additional cost;

(b) The reason for adoption of the more costly rule;

(c) Whether the more costly rule is based on the interests of public health, safety, or welfare, and
if so, please explain; and;

(d) Whether the reason is within the scope of the agency’s statutory. authority; and if so, please
explain. &

4. If the purpose of this rule is to implement a federal rule or regulation, please state the following:
(a) What is the cost to implement the federal rule or regulation?

'Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

General General Revenue




Revenue '
Federal Funds Federal Funds

Cash Funds Cash Funds
Special ‘ Special Revenue
Revenue

Other (Identify) Other (Identify)

Total ‘ Total

(b) ~ What is the additional cost of the state rule?

Current Fiscal Year - Next Fiscal Year

General Revenue General Revenue

Federal Funds Federal Funds

Cash Funds 20,000 Cash Funds 20,000

Special Revenue 60,000 Special Revenue 60,000
- Other (1dentify) ' Other (Identify) -

Total 80,000 Total 80,000

5. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to any private individual, entity and business
subject to the proposed, amended, or repealed rule? Identify the entity(ics) subject to the
proposed rule and explain how they are affected.

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

$ 6,500 o $ 6,500

All Grain Dealers buying grain from grain sellers who are not under the State Grain
Warehousing Law, the Federal Warehousing Law, or are not end users of grain Bonds and LOC's
cost 1 to 2 percent. The average sized company at 1.5% bond and license will be 6,500 dollars.

6. What is the total estimated cost by fiscal year to state, county, and municipal government to
implement this rule? Is this the cost of the program or grant? Please explain how the
government is affected.

Current Fiscal Year Next Fiscal Year

$ 80,000 - $ 80,000
Studying other state laws, writing regulations this year and implementing the law next fiscal
year. .

7.  With respect to the agency’s answers to Questions #5 and #6 above, is there a new or
increased cost or obligation of at least one hundred thousand dollars ($100,000) per year to a
private individual, private entity, private business, state government, county government,
municipal government, or to two (2) or more _ of those

entities combined?
Yes [ ] No X




If YES, the agency is required by Ark. Code Ann. § 25-15-204(e)(4) to file written findings
at the time of filing the financial impact statement. The written findings shall be filed
simultaneously

with the financial impact statement and shall include, without limitation, the following:

(1) a statement of the rule’s basis and purpose;

(2) the problem the agency seeks to address with the proposed rule, including a statement of
whether a rule is required by statute;

(3) a description of the factual evidence that:
(a) justifies the agency’s need for the proposed rule; and
(b) describes how the benefits of the rule meet the relevant statutory objectives and
Justify the rule’s costs;

(4) a list of less costly alternatives to the proposed rule and the reasons why the alternatives
do not adequately address the problem to be solved by the proposed rule;

(5) alist of alternatives to the proposed rule that were suggested as a result of public
comment and the reasons why the alternatives do not adequately address the problem to
be solved by the proposed rule;

(6) a statement of whether existing rules have created or contributed to the problem the
agency seeks to address with the proposed rule and, if existing rules have created or
contributed to the problem, an explanation of why amendment or repeal of the rule
creating or contributing to the problem is not a sufficient response; and

(7) an agency plan for review of the rule no less than every ten (10) years to determine
whether, based upon the evidence, there remains a need for the rule including, without
limitation, whether:

(a) the rule is achieving the statutory objectives;

(b) the benefits of the rule continue to justify its costs; and

(c) the rule can be amended or repealed to reduce costs while continuing to achieve
the statutory objectives.
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