Agricultural Abandoned Pesticide Program 

The Arkansas Agricultural Abandoned Pesticide Program was developed as a way for farmers to safely and properly dispose of old or unwanted pesticides.  This program is conducted in cooperation with the Arkansas State Plant Board, the University of Arkansas Cooperative Extension Service, the Arkansas Farm Bureau, the Arkansas Natural Resources Commission, and the Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality.  Representatives from these agencies make up the Abandoned Pesticide Advisory Board.  The Abandoned Pesticide Advisory Board selects ten counties per year with a goal of holding at least one collection event in every county in Arkansas.  The Advisory Board uses priority watersheds as a guiding principle when selecting counties for pesticide collections.  The pesticide collections began in 2005 in Northeast Arkansas targeting the Mississippi River Delta area of Eastern Arkansas.  By the spring of 2009 at least one collection had been held in each county in Eastern Arkansas.  At the conclusion of the spring 2011 pesticide collections the Abandoned Pesticide Program has collected over 744,000 pounds of unwanted pesticides from Arkansas farmers in 55 different counties.  The pesticide collections are paid for by the pesticide manufacturers through a fee added to the registration of each agricultural pesticide registered in Arkansas.  There is no cost to the farmer and it is completely anonymous for those who wish to participate.  The table below shows the counties where pesticide collections have been held along with the total pounds from each county.

Arkansas County  34,372
Ashley County   5,926
Benton County   31,154
Chicot County   16,000
Clay County   22,821
Craighead County  13,691
Crittenden County  14,000
Cross County   29,730
Desha County   55,030
Drew County   6,025
Greene County   14,822
Jackson County   22,057
Jefferson County  15,000
Lawrence County  23,375
Lee County   22,683
Lincoln County   7,519
Lonoke County   45,000
Mississippi County  105,423
Monroe County   40,440
Phillips County   46,000
Poinsett County   37,867
Prairie County   17,131
St Francis County  18,943
White County   9,128
Woodruff County  10,913
Crawford/Washington        6,606
Franklin/Johnson 3,908
Yell/Pope 1,768
Logan/Scott/Sebastian 2,300
Lafayette/Miller 20,527
Howard/Pike/Hempstead 1,668
Sevier/Little River 3,148
Polk/Montgomery 2,834
Total Collected   744,792